Caltech Home > HSS Home > About > Honors and Awards > Faculty Research Awards
open search form

Faculty Research Awards

AAAS Seal Current faculty members in HSS have been recognized for their research and contributions to their fields of study with the following awards and honors.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow

Election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an honorary society focused on policy studies for the benefit of society, is one of the nation's highest honors.

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow

American Economic Association Distinguished Fellow

The American Economic Association's Distinguished Fellows are elected from economists of the highest distinction in the United States and Canada.

CGS Gustave O. Arlt Award in the Humanities

Named in honor of the first president of the Council of Graduate Schools and first presented in 1972, this award is made annually to a scholar-teacher in the humanities.

  • Fiona Cowie, 1999

Cliometric Society Fellow

The Cliometric Society honors outstanding scholarship in the field of economic history through its election of fellows on the basis of contributions to the field that are markedly original and have significantly advanced the frontiers of knowledge.

Econometric Society Fellow

The Econometric Society elects fellows to serve as part of an international body focused on the advancement of economic theory in relationship with statistics and mathematics.

Economic History Society First Monograph Prize

The Economic History Society exists to support research and teaching in economic and social history, broadly defined. The First Monograph Prize is awarded biennially for the best first monograph in economic and/or social history.

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowships are grants awarded to individuals who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

Haynes Foundation Faculty Fellowship

The John Randolph Haynes and Dora Haynes Foundation is a leading supporter of social science research for Los Angeles.

MacArthur Fellow

The MacArthur Fellowship, also known as the "genius grant," is awarded annually without restrictions by the MacArthur Foundation to individuals who show exceptional merit or promise for continued and enhanced creative work.

Andrew W. Mellon Foundation New Directions Fellowship

New Directions fellowships assist faculty members in the humanities who seek to acquire systematic training outside their own areas of special interest. The program is intended to enable strong scholars in the humanities to work on problems that interest them most, at an appropriately advanced level of sophistication.

  • Fiona Cowie, 2004

National Academy of Sciences Member

The National Academy of Sciences, an advisory body on science, engineering, and medicine, elects new members each year in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Onassis Prize for Finance

The Philosopher's Annual Ten Best Articles

Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory Fellow

Faculty are chosen to be fellows in the society for their "scientific excellence, originality, and leadership; high ethical standards; and scholarly and creative achievement."

Society for Political Methodology Fellow

Selection to the position of Fellow of the Society for Political Methodology honors individuals who have made outstanding scholarly contributions to the development of political methodology, and whose methodological work has had a major international impact on subsequent scholarship in the field, in the discipline more broadly, and where appropriate in other areas.

Henry A. Wallace Award

The Henry A. Wallace Award, presented by the Agricultural History Society, is for the best book on any aspect of agricultural history outside the United States. The Agricultural History Society was founded to promote interest, study, and research in the history of agriculture.